Cultivated Reef

DIY 20L Sump design question

milfordguy

So I've been researching the best DIY 20L sump setup for the past week or so. I've seen just about everyone ends up with a different design at the end of the day. I was hoping I could get some feedback before I pull the trigger on buying my glass baffles.

I've decided on this design for simplicity. My skimmer looks like it will do best in 8" of water so I'm going to have all my first 3 baffles cut to 8". Or maybe get my second baffle cut to 9"?

I'm planning on copying one of Melev's design, but tweaking it slightly. On this link you can see he has eggcrate for about 3/4 of his last baffle. I'm planning on just making my entire last baffle egg crate so having a large fuge/return as my second section.

I've attached a picture below of what I'm planning. Any and all advice would be appreciated. This is my first time ever making a sump so please feel free to criticize!

SumpExampleUpdated_zpsdea4ee5f.jpg

bdevillier19

I would the return in the left chamber and the skimmer/overflow in the right chamber so you have the fuge plus the bubble trap to keep micro bubbles out of your tank.

drunkenmonk21

I would the return in the left chamber and the skimmer/overflow in the right chamber so you have the fuge plus the bubble trap to keep micro bubbles out of your tank.

Either side he puts them on he will have the fuge and bubble trap before it goes back to the tank.

Either side he puts them on he will have the fuge and bubble trap before it goes back to the tank.

a baffle doesnt work as well at stopping bubbles. i have the same setup as what hes considering and plumbed the same way as what he wants. i was still getting bubble until i but the bubble trap between the fuge and return section.