How do I Recover RAR password If I forgot It?

Copper Contributor

I have a RAR file that is password-protected, I have forgotten the password. I need to gain access to the contents of this file, but I am unable to do so without the correct password. I have tried various combinations of words and phrases that I commonly use as passwords, but none of them have worked. I am now at a loss for how to recover my RAR password since I am not an expert in RAR file management. Are there any tools or methods that I can use to recover RAR password?

Update: I've managed to solve the issue with the Dr.RAR toolthe previously inaccessible RAR file was unlocked, providing access to its contents without compromising the integrity of the files inside. Highly recommend it to others facing similar challenges with forgotten RAR file passwords. 

dr_rar.png
2 Replies

@rainbow2210 

Recovering a forgotten RAR password can be challenging, but there are a few methods and tools you can try. Keep in mind that the success of these methods depends on the complexity and strength of the password. Here are some options:

1. Password Hints or Memory:

• Before attempting any recovery tools, try to recall any hints or clues related to the password. Consider any patterns, variations, or associated words that might help.

2. Check for a Password Hint:

• Some RAR files allow the creator to provide a password hint. Right-click on the RAR file, select "Extract files," and check if there's a hint provided.

3. Use Previously Used Passwords:

• If you have used similar passwords in the past, try using variations or combinations of those passwords.

4. Use RAR Password Recovery Tools:

• There are several third-party tools designed to recover RAR passwords. Some popular ones include:
    • RAR Password Unlocker: This tool uses brute-force and dictionary attacks. It supports multi-core CPUs and NVIDIA-GPU acceleration.