Question on British Steam

sawyer811

MKT Forever and always
Okay, please nobody jump me, but i have a question on british steam engines and their operation. Recently, while trolling rrpictures.net i found this picture...

3261.1290021476.jpg

the caption says this is a water stop and it said this is all ash (i assume) from the firebox. i guess i have two questions: 1) how is this possible?! If this is a water stop, then the engine has to be under steam, right? why would you kill it just to take on water? yet every steam video fromb britian seems to show the engine "dead" when it stops at the water crane. no steam, no smoke, no anything. maybe i'm too used to how we operate steam here in america, but to open the front of an engine up like this would destroy the vacuum that the fire needs to burn...right?

the second question is this, how on earth is all this getting in the smokebox?!? i'm no expert on british steam and their operations, and will never claim to be, but i've ridden behind enough coal-fired steam engines here in the states and here, the ash either ends up in the ashpan or completey exhausted up the smokestack. I'm stumped to this. does all this have to do with the grade of coal they burn?

I hope this didn't come off as snotty or arrogant or anything someone might take as offensive. I'm just a yank, and i can only go off what i've seen from steam operations here, but i know they're very different from operations in Britain. But to a american steam enthusiast like me, this doesn't make sense. could someone explain this for me?

As far as I know, when a loco is watering, to preserve the fire, it is "damped down" & the firebox doors are closed, hence no smoke or steam (unless bad coal is being used).